Garden Update: September 2016

September brings the start of fall, and with fall comes the opportunity for a fall garden!

In the past my gardening stamina has worn a little thin in the fall after I’ve spent summers battling caterpillars, flea beetles, and bacterial wilt. This season has marked an improvement in my garden – there were still some struggles, but my real raised beds have led to healthier plants, larger yields, and more ability to rotate plants. Container gardening was tough, but now I really appreciate how great it is to have raised beds!

This month I’ve started to transition my space into fall planting. I’m starting cooler weather greens and herbs, as well as some root vegetables. I’m also planning to expand the garden to a larger size when the weather cools down! Over the winter I’ll add compost and a cover crop to prepare for spring.

Harvesting:

  • Long beans
  • Chile peppers
  • Basil
  • Tomatillos
  • Acorn squash
  • Cantaloupe
  • Okra
  • Herbs and flowers

Maturing:

  • Radishes
  • Carrots
  • Beets
  • Peas shoots
  • Divided large plants and repotted/transplanted sage, oregano, mint, and marjoram

Seeds started:

  • Kale
  • Arugula
  • Sage
  • Spinach
  • Cilantro
  • Dill
  • Chervil

To Do List:

  • Sow more beets and radishes
  • Add rooting agent to fig cuttings
  • Expand garden footprint
  • Mend rodent fence
  • On temperature change, take out okra, eggplant, long beans
  • Dry long beans for next year
  • Repot sunchokes into garden
Leave a Reply

