Herbal Tea Blends

A few weeks ago I finally got around to processing all of the herbs that I dried from the garden. I had stored them in individual ziploc bags with the air pressed out, but made time to break the leaves off of the stems for easier use. While I was working, I made some herbal tea blends that I’ve enjoyed immensely, and were also fantastic gifts! I put together a few blends of different flavors that I thought I might enjoy, so far I’ve been very pleased with the following ratios, and I’m looking forward to growing and drying more herbs for tea and cooking next year.

Here are the ratios of teas that I made:

Moon Tea

  • 1/2 Mugwort
  • 1/4 Peppermint
  • 1/4 Holy basil

Holy Basil

  • 3/4 Holy basil
  • 1/4 Lemon basil

Relax

  • 1/2 Sage
  • 1/4 Rose petals
  • 1/4 Lavender

Relax Tea

  • 1/4 Chrysanthemum greens
  • 1/4 Peppermint
  • 1/4 Rose Petals
  • 1/4 Lavender

I bought a bulk pack of re-useable tea bags, and also took a few extra minutes to make some cute labels for the different combinations. I steep each tea for about 3 minutes with boiling water, and they produce nice infusions for two to three uses. I also used these teas to make herbal wild fermented meads! They won’t be ready for some time yet, but I’m looking forward to the flavors. I used two tea bags per each 64 oz growler, and brewed a tea that I used to dilute 1/2 cup honey each. I’m really enjoying having dried herbs to play with for so many different projects.

screen-shot-2017-01-16-at-10-19-38-pm

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. hocuspocus13 says:

    Reblogged this on hocuspocus13 and commented:
    jinxx🔥xoxo

    Like

Leave a Reply

